REICH and New Beginings

Sometimes you have to step out into the world with your warts exposed. I published REICH in 2014 as the second book in my career. Coming off of the high of being a first-time author, I rushed to get this book done and out to market, not thinking that I was shooting myself in the foot. The result was a string of harsh criticism and a few blatant attacks on my character (I guess having a book called REICH with a swastika on the cover made me a white supremacist, although I am highly against racism as an actual human being). Needless to say, the high wore off and I became ashamed of my work, eventually pulling the book off Amazon out of embarrassment.

There’s more than one lesson here. First, take your time to get the book edited. Second, you can’t please everyone. Third, bad reviews happen. Fourth, move on. Those lessons were learned the hard way and although I really cringe when I see the star rating on the book, I know I deserved some of that harsh criticism, though, maybe not the racist accusations, but surely the criticism about editing and formatting.

Why am I telling you this? It’s simple; I ran through REICH with a more critical eye and fixed more than 230 grammatical errors. That’s a lot for a book of about twenty-thousand words. Additionally, I don’t want to be ashamed of my work. Though it was written four years ago, it is one of the many steps I had to take to become the writer I am today. If you liked The Alorian Wars, then this book was part of my journey to tell that story. If you enjoyed Darkest Beyond, then the same is true. REICH isn’t going to win any literary awards, but it is a part of my author journey, and one I should be proud of. This is a new beginning for this book and one that I hope is better received than the first time around.

If you like alternative history then REICH may very well be the story for you. It has politics. It has action. It has a lot of screwed up people doing screwed up things. Hopefully, you like what I’ve done with the place and can be thankful we don’t live in a world like the one depicted in this story. Do you want to take the journey to a place where history is a lie and that lie may very well lead to the destruction of our world? If so, then follow me…

 

 

 

About

I am an active duty Navy veteran and self published science fiction author. I grew up in Mississippi and joined the navy at seventeen. I now live in Virginia with my wife and two daughters.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Read the first book in The Alorian Wars today!

The future is darker than you think! Grab the Complete Dead Planet Series box set today!

