The End of The Dead Planet Series

Last night I hit publish on the third and final book in The Dead Planet Series. It all started in 2012; I turned thirty years old and was reflecting on my accomplishments so far. I had several life goals achieved by that point, an amazing wife, two kids cooler than I ever was as a kid, a good paying job, a nice house, and all the stuff that I was expecting to have at that age. But there were some things I wanted to do that I never had the chance to accomplish, or was never successful at. One of those things was writing a book.

I remember doing research, I watched YouTube videos about authors, and once I had my head wrapped around what I thought I needed to do, I began writing a fantasy book called “Woe is the Fallen”. I wrote it longhand on a legal pad and then typed it into my computer. It was difficult and not fun in the least. I stopped working on it and decided to give up, but after making that decision, my YouTube kept suggesting other videos to watch. Each of them was interviews with writers or videos about writing in general. It was through these suggested videos that I discovered National Novel Writing Month. I decided, after reading up on NaNoWriMo, that I would give writing one more shot, but this time I would write science fiction instead. The result was “Exodus: Book One of The Dead Planet Series”.

Writing that book changed everything for me. It proved to me that I could write a book. It showed me that goals could be achieved. It taught me that I loved the creative process and that I could endure writing and publishing even if it meant I was not getting paid for it. In fact, it was more than a year before I received royalties, and it has been four years in the making for my most successful month in publishing ever. When I launched Broken Worlds at the end of September I was afraid it would flop, but I’ve sold almost one-thousand copies and I’ve earned over $500 from my writing in a single month. It’s not enough to live off of, but it is more than I was making before. I think releasing the final book in The Dead Planet Series is coming at the best time in my author career, at the true beginning of a financially successful career in publishing.

I’m excited about this release, but I’m more excited about the future and the stories I have yet to tell. As we enter November 2016 I am preparing to take part in NaNoWriMo by writing the third book in The Alorian Wars. I am fixing my previous mistakes and I refuse to take four years to publish a full series ever again. The rest of this year, and the next, will be devoted to writing my new space opera series “The Alorian Wars”. If you have followed me on my journey with The Dead Planet Series, then I hope you will stay the course with me for The Alorian Wars. The best is yet to come!

You can find The Dead Planet Series, as well as my other books here.

About

I am an active duty Navy veteran and self published science fiction author. I grew up in Mississippi and joined the navy at seventeen. I now live in Virginia with my wife and two daughters.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Read the first book in The Alorian Wars today!

The future is darker than you think! Grab the Complete Dead Planet Series box set today!

