My New SciFi Obsession: THE EXPANSE

expanse

My New SciFi Obsession: THE EXPANSE
Yes, I am a big-time scifi fan, but I never heard about THE EXPANSE until I found the first episode of the TV series was free on iTunes. It looked interesting and I was in the market for something to watch before bed while on deployment. Free is just the kind of price I feel comfortable with investing until I become a fan, so I gave it a shot. I think I watched that first episode three times! Crazier yet, the show was produced by the SyFy channel, a channel most scifi fans roll their eyes at because they canceled awesome shows to bring their fans “professional wrestling”!

expanse4
After watching the pilot episode I decided to investigate the book series and see what I was in store for. I found the first book on Amazon and the description of the world James S. A. Corey (actually co-authors Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck) seemed to be a vast and wonderful place to explore. Instead of buying the first book in the4 series to test the waters, I ordered the first three books which were available in a box set. I usually read twenty to thirty pages before going to sleep, but I have to admit, some nights I HAD to read more to see where the story was going. Keep in mind, I’m deployed and work at least twelve hours a day on a ship…I need my beauty sleep.

expanse5
The world presented in Leviathan Wakes, and developed further in the sequel books, opened up to be a space opera with a noir feel. I found myself enthralled by the characters and as each page past by I began to see the world in their eyes, to understand their plight as they would. Part of that magic is a hyper-active imagination, but the story telling was the perfect vehicle to drive my creativity and remove me from the real world long enough to forget the hardships of the day.

expanse6
Since January I have read through the first three books and am working on the fourth. I’ve watched the entire first season and wait, rather impatiently, for season two to come out. I find myself on Pinterest looking at the concept art for the series. I actively search for articles about my new obsession, and I’m very excited to see where the world, or should I say worlds, go in the future books. I find myself thinking about THE EXPANSE, what it would be like to be on one of their ships, perhaps the Rocinante, or maybe even an ice hauler. I’ve spent this obsessed period of time cramped on a ship, with nowhere else to go than this fantastical world and find that I can relate to the crew of the Roci. I’m living that life, so to speak, the only difference is I’m on the ocean and they are in space. Either way, we are further from home than we want to be, but something keeps pulling us along. I just hope it isn’t the proto-molecule!

expanse7
In all seriousness, if you are a fan of science fiction, then there is no other series of books that I can recommend more than THE EXPANSE. Take the plunge!

You can get the first three books of this best-selling series here: THE EXPANSE 1-3

About

I am an active duty Navy veteran and self published science fiction author. I grew up in Mississippi and joined the navy at seventeen. I now live in Virginia with my wife and two daughters.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “My New SciFi Obsession: THE EXPANSE
  1. Stoian Madzharov says:

    I feel you man.This series is the best !

  2. […] 7. What are you currently reading? I am currently enthralled by The Expanse series by James S A Corey. This series is by far my favorite science fiction series EVER. I wrote a blog about it here: My New SciFi Obsession: THE EXPANSE The closest I’ll ever get to being a fangirl! […]

Leave a Reply

Read the first book in The Alorian Wars today!

The future is darker than you think! Grab the Complete Dead Planet Series box set today!

