The Row Machine

“The Row Machine,” it sounds like a weird title for a story doesn’t it? Well, the good news is I am not writing a story about some kind of time traveling row machine, or one that controls a time bomb in some dystopian version of Earth. Nope, this post is to talk about something other than writing.
I have been having back problems for years. Part of it has been due to work-related injuries, but I’m sure a lot of it can be attributed to poor posture and not taking care of myself. On February 10, 2016 I started a new plan to work out every day using the row machine. There is a challenge for people to take part in teams over at concept2.com but that was just for accountability sake. I really needed to get into a routine that would benefit me in regards to overall health and possibly help with my back pain. I’ve been told for years that working out helps with muscular pain, and yes it was coming from a doctor and not some meat-head in the gym getting his kicks off flexing in front of the mirror.
I must admit, I failed in my endeavor to work out every day. I skipped three days recently, but I plan on working out longer the next few days to make up for the lack of meters rowed. My goal was 4k meters per day. Today I did 5k and will try to reach six or seven tomorrow.
Being only a week into the program it is difficult to determine whether or not I am benefiting a great deal by rowing every day. Besides, I did take three days off. But I have noticed that I feel pretty pumped afterwards and feel rather exhausted when I go to bed at night. This has actually given me a better quality sleep in my opinion. I want to spend the next forty days turning this exercise into a habit and seeing where it takes me. This is my public announcement so you all can keep me accountable, lol. Anyways, here’s to forty days of rowing, maybe I’ll actually get somewhere 🙂

About

I am an active duty Navy veteran and self published science fiction author. I grew up in Mississippi and joined the navy at seventeen. I now live in Virginia with my wife and two daughters.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Read the first book in The Alorian Wars today!

The future is darker than you think! Grab the Complete Dead Planet Series box set today!

