Busted at Work (I Want to be a Writer Too)

I had a brief conversation with some guys at work who discovered I write books. It’s really easy to post about it in social media, but having a conversation is tricky territory for me. I’m not shy, in fact I could go on for days about it, but I don’t want to be the weird writer nerd who goes on an hour long explanation of what kind of books I write. I usually just smile, nod, and tell them they can find me on Amazon.
Today, though, two fellows mentioned wanting to write books themselves and I cringed. Not because I think people are incapable of doing good work. In fact I imagine 98% of people could do better than me. But one of the things most people don’t talk about is the addiction of writing. If you write a short story per year then you’ll probably be safe. If you write like me and some of the people I know then your life changes a bit. Every second of the day pulls you into your little false world. You start thinking out loud and look around in embarrassment hoping no one heard you. The next thing you know your mood changes and shifts based on what you’re thinking about which isn’t even real.
Most creative people are kind of weird, but writers of fiction are kind of crazy. There’s always a fear there won’t be enough room at the looney bin when everyone finds out.
What did I do when they mentioned it? I smiled, nodded, and told them once they wrote their book to come see me so I could help keep them from making the same mistakes. As challenging as writing is, it’s also very therapeutic. I would never discourage anyone from pursuing it, but I will high five them as they cross the threshold of crazy town; a place full of imaginary friends and fake outcomes. Why? Because it’s worth every crazy minute to accomplish something you want to do. My only hope is the straight jacket is one size fits all because I’m a little flabby in the midsection. 😉

About

I am an active duty Navy veteran and self published science fiction author. I grew up in Mississippi and joined the navy at seventeen. I now live in Virginia with my wife and two daughters.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Busted at Work (I Want to be a Writer Too)

Leave a Reply

Read the first book in The Alorian Wars today!

The future is darker than you think! Grab the Complete Dead Planet Series box set today!

